Founded in 2003, the Undergraduate Research Council (URC) provides leadership and direction for the UCF undergraduate research community. Members are (1) faculty representatives from academic departments or (2) staff from supporting offices.  This council is organized through the Office of Undergraduate Research.

The URC serves as a conduit of information to ensure that the campus community is aware of programs, opportunities, and updates pertinent to students and faculty engaged in undergraduate research activity. Members also serve a critical function by serving as reviewers for program applications and poster conferences

 We are committed to supporting these researchers across campus through these core goals:

  • Preparing timely programmatic updates to departmental representatives through 6 meetings per academic year
  • Offering leadership to advance equitable undergraduate research opportunities across campus
  • Guiding successful campus-wide implementation of undergraduate research programs and opportunities
  • Identifying needs and trends in undergraduate research across campus
  • Providing feedback on existing programs and proposed changes


The URC convenes three times each fall and spring semester to provide support and leadership to the University of Central Florida (UCF) undergraduate research community. The Council serves in an advisory role to the UCF Office of Undergraduate Research and UCF administration in matters of policy and procedure related to undergraduate research. The Council members also serve as ambassadors of undergraduate research in their home departments and units, ensuring that the campus community is informed of opportunities and updates.


2020-2021 Academic Year Representatives:

Michael Aladronro-Jeffries
Ahlam Al-Rawi
Morgan Bauer
Joseph Brennan
Tyler Campbell
Ratna Chakrabarti
Matt Chin
Maritza Concha
Padmini Coopamah Waldron
Nicole Damico
Edward Dandrow
Damian Dechev
Karen Ehrhart
Sarah Evans
Nessette Falu
Kimberly Finley
Stephanie Florczyk
Marcy Galbreath
Martha Garcia
Nora Lee Garcia
Melissa Gillis
Mitzy Gonzalez
Sasha Hararuk
Maria Harrington
Richard Harrison
Robert Jones
Joo Kim
Lanlan Kuang
Stephen Kuebler
Aubrey Kuperman
Muriel Lee
Matthew Matusiak
Abby Milon
Vicki Montoya
Cassie Odahowski
Harrison Oonge
Jonathan Powell
Tison Pugh
Andrew Randall
Debra Reinhart
LeeAnn Roberts
Joshua Roney
Swadeshmukul Santra
Kimberly Schneider
Steve Seay
Kenneth Teter
Natalia Toro
Jacqueline Towson
Charlotte Trinquet Du Lys
Mary Tripp
Tiana Tucker
Anna Valdes
Lashay Vazquez
John Venecek
Peter Wallace
Lei Wei

The Student Undergraduate Research Council meets to discuss and promote the involvement of undergraduates in the ongoing activities of the UCF research community.

Meet the 2020 – 2021 Student Undergraduate Research Council